Chattering baked egg-vocado breakfast

Leave a comment

I loved this idea / recipe from the Eat Feel Fresh blog for egg baked in an avocado that I saw last night and decided I would do it for breakfast. So utterly delicious too. I highly recommend this.

As Sara says in her recipe expect the egg to spill over the side. I didn't have small eggs - only medium for my baked egg in avocado.

As Sara says in her recipe expect the egg to spill over the side. I didn’t have small eggs – only medium for my baked egg in avocado.

I’ve called it chattering because when it comes out of the oven it is making so much noise it is like it is talking to you. Hopefully saying “Eat Me!”. After 15 mins at 180 degrees in my electric fan oven the egg most probably was nicely runny as Sara likes it but I wanted to make sure it was cooked enough so left it in for another 4 minutes and the yolks were hard. Next time I will take it out at 15 minutes and see how it is being runny.

I love that being restricted in diet for health keeps leading me to delicious novel things I would not have tried before.

I love that being restricted in diet for health keeps leading me to delicious novel things I would not have tried before.

For the recipe check out http://www.eatfeelfresh.com/2012/02/egg-in-avocado.html but it is ever so easy i.e. cut the avocado in half, scoop out the stone, then scoop out a little extra to make more room and eat this extra, put a small egg in each half and bake for 15 mins at an oven preheated to 375 F or 180 C. Add some tomatoes to the baking tray if so inclined.

Had so much flavour I only needed the tiniest bit of Himalayan salt. A really healthy satisfying breakfast and paleo friendly as well as vegetarian and gluten free.

All comments monitored for spam. Please do not post inane comments here just to propagate links to websites as they will not be approved.

